Statute of Limitations on Child Support for Vermont
Vermont child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.
Vermont Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.
Statutory cite or civil code reference for the age of majority?
If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?
18 or the termination of secondary education, whichever is later.
Does the date of the order impact what law is applied?
Yes, instruments executed prior to July 1971 used the age of 21 as the "age of majority."
Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?
This has not been addressed by the VT Supreme Court. However, one magistrate ruled that "marriage" of minor equals emancipated.
Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?
Yes, only if stipulated by the parties.
Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.
Cases with an order, but no adjudicated arrearage: an action to adjudicate arrears must be taken within 6 years after the youngest child reaches 18 years of age. Cases in which arrearages have been previously adjudicated: the limit is 8 years after the last adjudication.
Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:
No later than child's 21st birthday.
Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?
Yes, enforcement actions in accordance with 15 VSA 606(c) and judgment liens in accordance with 15 VSA 791(f).