Statute of Limitations on Child Support for Tennessee
Tennessee child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.
Tennessee Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.
18 years of age, unless child is still in high school; in such cases emancipation occurs when child graduates from high school or when class child is in when he/she reaches 18 or graduates.
Statutory cite or civil code reference for the age of majority?
T.C.A. Section 34-11-102
If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?
Age 18 unless child is still in high school; in such cases emancipation occurs when child graduates from high school or when class child is in when he/she reaches age of majority.
Does the date of the order impact what law is applied?
Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?
Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?
Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.
Judgment for child support payments for each child subject to the order for child support pursuant to this part shall be enforceable without limitation as to time. The law is not retroactive. (TCA Section 36-2-321)
Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:
Up to 3 years after child reaches age of majority.
Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?