Statute of Limitations on Child Support for North Dakota
North Dakota child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.
North Dakota Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.
18 years of age.
If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?
18 years of age. If child is enrolled and attending high school and child resides with person to whom duty of support is owed, court can extend child support obligation until child is 19 or graduates from high school, whichever occurs first.
Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?
It's not automatic. The court decides on a case by case basis.
Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?
Yes, if the parties agree or if the court determines the support to be appropriate.
Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.
Effective April 2, 1999, past due child support is no longer subject to Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order. Past due child support which had been affected by the Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order, prior to April 2, 1999, is not revived; however, application of the Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order., while it serves to bar certain judicial enforcement rememdies, does not extinguish the debt.
Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:
3 years after the child attains majority.
Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?
Yes and No. Revival is not possible but renewal is possible as it relates to docketed judgments. A docketed judgment is effective for a period of ten years from the time of docketing and may be renewed for an additional ten-year period.