Child Support Collections Logo

Statute of Limitations on Child Support for New Mexico

New Mexico child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.

New Mexico Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.

18 years of age, unless still in high school, then up to 19 years of age.

Statutory cite or civil code reference for the age of majority?

Section 40-4-7 (b)(3)(b)

If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?

18 years of age, unless still in high school, then up to 19 years of age.

Does the date of the order impact what law is applied?

No

Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?

No

Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?

Yes, if severely handicapped - by case law

Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.

14 years of age.

Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:

21 years.

Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?

Yes

Debt and Credit Resources

Owed Child Support? Let us help Guaranteed Results or You Don't Pay!

Step-by-Step guide for dealing with Unfair and Illegal Debt Collection Tactics!
Get Your Copy Today

FREE! No Obligation
Bankruptcy Assessment

Student loans in default?
Learn your rights here

Credit reports messed up?
Learn how to repair your credit!

FREE Bankruptcy Forms
The Basic Kit includes all forms and instructions plus 70 additional bankruptcy forms and four specific documents to help you avoid these
Top 10 Filing Mistakes

FREE Debt & Credit Sample Letters