Statute of Limitations on Child Support for New Jersey
New Jersey child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.
New Jersey Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.
18 years old, however attaining this age does not automatically emancipate the child
Statutory cite or civil code reference for the age of majority?
If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?
No automatic termination of support at any age. The court on a case-by-case basis determines emancipation.
Does the date of the order impact what law is applied?
Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?
No, a motion must be filed with the court to emancipate the child for any reason.
Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?
Yes, if the child is handicapped or continuing education or any other reason as determined by the court.
Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.
Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:
5 years beyond the child's 18th birthday
Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?