Statute of Limitations on Child Support for Maine
Maine child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.
Maine Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.
18 years of age.
Statutory cite or civil code reference for the age of majority?
19A MRSA section 1653(12).
If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?
18 years of age, unless the child is attending secondary school, then until the child graduates, withdraws or is expelled from secondary school or attains 19 years of age, whichever occurs first; becomes married; or becomes a member of the armed services.
Does the date of the order impact what law is applied?
Yes, orders issued before 01/01/1990 expire when the child turns 18. However, they can be modified before the child turns 18 and extended to secondary school or until 19, whichever occurs first.
Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?
Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?
Yes, if ordered by the court.
Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.
None, but there is a presumption of payment after 20 years.
Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:
Before 18th birthday.
Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?