Statute of Limitations on Child Support for Louisiana
Louisiana child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.
Louisiana Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.
18 years of age.
Statutory cite or civil code reference for the age of majority?
Civil Code Article 29.
If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?
Louisiana Revised Statue 9:309(C) allows for child support to be paid for a child over the age of majority if the child is unmarried, a full time student in good standing in a secondary school, and dependent on either parent.
Does the date of the order impact what law is applied?
Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?
Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?
Yes, for an 18 year old full-time student in good standing at a secondary school and is dependent on either parent; a developmentally disabled child up to age 22; a child placed under continuing tutorship by the court.
Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.
Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:
Until the age of majority.
Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?
Yes, a judicial mortgage or lien that has been properly recorded must be reinscribed (revived) before the expiration of 10 years from the date it was recorded.