Statute of Limitations on Child Support for California
California child support statute of limitations including the civil code, what age paternity must be established and emancipate rules.
California Age of Majority: when child support payments can be stopped.
18 years except an unmarried child who has attained the age of 18 years, is a full-time high school student, and who is not self-supporting, is considered a minor until the time the child completes the 12th grade or attains the age of 19 years, whichever occurs first.
Statutory cite or civil code reference for the age of majority?
Family Code section 3901.
If not addressed in the order, at what age is child support automatically terminated as a matter of State law?
See Age of Majority above.
Does the date of the order impact what law is applied?
Does child support end if the child leaves the household but does not emancipate?
Is support ever paid beyond the age of majority?
Yes, at the court's discretion, support can be ordered for a child of whatever age if incapacitated from earning a living and without sufficient means to provide support. (Family Code section 3910)
Statute of Limitations to enforce a child support order.
There is no Statute of Limitations; child support is enforceable until paid in full.
Statute of Limitations to establish paternity:
Paternity can be established at any time;
Is dormancy revival/renewal possible?
Yes, renewal is possible but not necessary because support orders are enforceable until paid in full.